Home -> Ecumenical Patriarchate -> History of the Ecumenical Patriarchate

Email Print

a short history of the ecumenical patriarchate of constantinople

First among equals in the eastern orthodox church

Dino Geanakoplos
Professor of Byzantine History and Orthodox Church History,
Yale University


The Five Great Christian Sees: The PENTARCHY

The Five-Phase History of the Patriarchate

First Phase: The Formative Period

Second Phase: Photios, the Greatest Patriarch


Third Phase: The Last Byzantine Centuries

Fourth Phase: "The Tourkokratia"

Fifth Phase: The Modern Period

About the author

Additional Books

about the author

Dino J. Geanakoplos, an internationally known scholar, was the Bradford Durfee Professor Emeritus of Byzantine and Italian Renaissance history and Orthodox Church history at Yale University. He was the official historian of the Archons of St. Andrew of the Ecumenical Patriarch who awarded him the patriarchal title of Didaskalos tou Genous. A fellow of the Medieval Academy of America, he was in 1983 elected president of the American Society of Church History. Geanakoplos is the author of 13 books and c. 100 articles. For his scholarship the Greek government in 1966 awarded him the Gold Cross of the Order of King George I. In 1989 the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America bestowed on him the medal of honor for the "Highest Paideia" in Hellenic studies. His books have been published in Greek translation in Athens, and two in Italian by the Academy of Palermo and the University of Rome. Dino passed away in 2007.

Next -- additional books


Email Print