Skip to Content

Archbishop Demetrios to receive Athenagoras Human Rights Award, October 27

His Eminence, Archbishop Demetrios, Primate of the Greek
Orthodox Archdiocese of America, has been selected to receive the 2007
Athenagoras Human Rights Award at the annual banquet of the Order of St.
Andrew on Saturday, October 27 at the New York Hilton. The Award
Ceremony coincides with the Annual Meeting of the Archons of the
Ecumenical Patriarchate in America and the Investiture of twenty-three
Archons at the Holy Trinity Archdiocesan Cathedral by His Eminence on
Sunday, October 28.

Dr. Anthony J. Limberakis, National Commander of the Order of St. Andrew
said, "Archbishop Demetrios of America exemplifies the very elements
that constitute the Athenagoras Human Rights Award - humanity, humility,
holiness, compassion and leadership. We will never forget his
extraordinary personal care in the tragic aftermath of the 9-11
terrorist attacks. On the occasion of his 40th Anniversary of his
ordination to the Episcopacy and in thanksgiving for his 47 years in the
priestly order of Melchizedek, he has demonstrated exemplary service to
humankind as an Orthodox hierarch, theologian, statesman and biblical

Deputy Secretary of State John Negroponte will be the main speaker and
Congressman Zack Space will serve as Master of Ceremonies that evening.
Invited guests include His Eminence, Cardinal Theodore McCarrick of
Washington, the Ambassadors of Greece and Cyprus, and Archons, religious
and government leaders and Orthodox faithful from throughout the country.

The Athenagoras Human Rights Award was established by the Order of Saint Andrew in 1986 in honor of Ecumenical Patriarch Athenagoras who served as Archbishop of the Americas and universally acknowledged as a visionary leader of Orthodoxy. The Award is presented to individuals or organizations who have demonstrated humanitarian service with distinction. Previous recipients have included
Archbishop Desmond Tutu, President Jimmy Carter, President George H.W.
Bush and Barbara Bush, Mother Teresa, Elie Wiesel, former President of
the Soviet Union Mikhail Gorbachev, the late Archbishop Iakovos, and
last year's recipient, Mr. Nicholas J. Bouras.

View a complete schedule of events for the weekend.

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required
News Type